Unborn Baby Grasps Doctor’s Hand During In-Utero Surgery


Anyone who claims a fetus in the womb is not a baby needs to see these pictures.  In 1999 a doctor was operating on an unborn baby in its 21st week (2nd trimester) of pregnancy to correct its spina bifida.  The entire operation on the unborn child was done by C-section with the child remaining in the uterus.  Photographer Michael Clancy was in attendance, taking pictures of the surgical procedure for USA:

As a doctor asked me what speed of film I was using, out of the corner of my eye I saw the uterus shake, but no one’s hands were near it. It was shaking from within. Suddenly, an entire arm thrust out of the opening, then pulled back until just a little hand was showing. The doctor reached over and lifted the hand, which reacted and squeezed the doctor’s finger. As if testing for strength, the doctor shook the tiny fist. Samuel held firm. I took the picture! Wow! It happened so fast that the nurse standing next to me asked, “What happened?” “The child reached out,” I said. “Oh. They do that all the time,” she responded.

These are the amazing pictures he took.


Unborn Baby Grasps Doctor's Hand During In-Utero Surgery

See all of the photos here.

Photographer Michael Clancy goes on to tell how Life Magazine wanted to buy the rights to the picture “to kill it.”

4 Comments

Filed under Abortion

4 responses to “Unborn Baby Grasps Doctor’s Hand During In-Utero Surgery

  1. A local news station did a story on this baby who reached out of the womb. He turned 10 in 2009 and said this when asked about these pictures:

    “When I see that picture, the first thing I think of is how special and lucky I am to have God use me that way. I feel very thankful that I was in that picture.”

    The whole story is here: http://www.myfoxny.com/dpp/news/national/Ten_Years_Later_Boys_Hand_of_Hope_Continues_to_Spark_Debate_42428345

  2. I agree. Awesome picture. However, the description is not accurate.

    http://snopes.com/photos/medical/thehand.asp

    • First of all, snopes is far from an unbiased “authority.” (See http://whoisjohngalt.hubpages.com/hub/Snopes-got-Snoped) We have caught them in willful untruths before. It’s just two liberals who look things up on google. What do you expect them to say?

      Second, I know that a baby is capable of doing this because I felt plenty of movement from my baby during the second trimester. Anyone who has taken an embryology course knows that a baby at that state of development is certainly able to grasp onto things.

Leave a Reply

